St. Judas

St. Judas

After awhile, I thought it would be better for me to have this libido documented. This is about Judas. Although this thought was amended with the new lights shed by the revelations of the Gospel of Judas, I will make it clear that this post was not made to appease the makers of the National Geographic episode on the Gospel of Judas or anything of that sort, but just to mutter this one out of my system. I haven’t read the Da Vinci Code (and no plans of reading it in the near future.)

Two years ago, while my housemates were having dinner at our apartment in Manila, I found myself asking why isn’t Judas a saint in the world of Christianity especially with the Roman Catholics. My friends who were about five of them all ex-seminarians were unanimous in their answers that it was because Judas committed suicide. And so my inquisition kept on.

Back then, I was thinking that were it not for Judas, the “crucifixion” will not ever materialize. Thus, I argued the point at hand. Still, and albeit heeding my point, the exclusion of Judas into the elite circle of Catholic saints boils down to his act of suicide.

I was thinking that even without Judas, Jesus will still be nailed down on the cross. It is stupid for Judas to have done so. He was one of the 12 apostles. His kiss is worthless afterall because everyone knew who Jesus was that time. Jesus’ stardom that time was akin to Britney Spears or Osama bin Laden whose faces appear everywhere on print. Judas’ kiss was a ceremonial non-sense.

Nevertheless, religious facts tell us so. Judas kissed Jesus and thereafter committed suicide. I was torn between to issues: the kiss and the suicide. Was there any connection or relevance between these acts? The answers to this, I will make later.

I am not a Judas fanatic nor a suicidal person. But I thought back then that suicide for Judas is his very sacrifice to this religious faith. And that alone should have earned him a space in the Vatican. Unfortunately, I am not Pope and will never be in this lifetime.

My friends and I did not resolve my question that fateful night. Maybe it was because of the good food before us – sardines if I’m not mistaken – or because my idea was way far to be seriously entertained by hungry people eating “good food.” Whatever, I took my thoughts along with me up to this day. I even developed my theory of suicide and until lately, my theory of the connection between the kiss and Judas’ self-destruction.

Just a premature idea and liberal concept about suicide. I think suicide is a right. It is a personal right that is deeply entangled with the modern concept of the basic human rights of every individual on earth. It is not a moral issue, it is a pillar of liberty.

Pro-life advocates would fight to death humanity’s cruelty against the unborn. We can reverse the formula and still arrive at the same answer. I will not go deeper with suicide this time. It’s Judas that I am more concerned with at the moment.

All else told and rekindled, the hard fact is that Judas betrayed Jesus with a kiss and thereafter Jesus liberated all of humankind from the bondage of the original sin. Jesus must die. Judas must pay. Not worth the syllogism but it’s worth my theory. And for all we know that passages from the Bible isn’t really that specific, it is written in abstract. All words and concepts therein, notwithstanding that there are names of specific persons and happening of specific events in it, still, the Bible must be read in the context of a general philosophical approach. What is the ultimate cause of the Bible? I am with the thinking that Judas, as a concept, is mankind.

Now at present time, after languishing myself of my theory of suicide – which I shall write in a separate post later – I have found the connection between the kiss and suicide while talking with Joy, my girlfriend, awhile ago. And I am happy to see that my theory of suicide is not at all affected by these recent realizations. I must admit that our discussion about Judas was plainly about National Geographic’s episode called Gospel of Judas which was aired on cable TV the other day.

The gist of our discussion was that Judas betrayed Jesus because it is a mission for him to do so. A mission that will jumpstart another. The crucifixion must be done and Judas was the lovely person to begin the process with. All gospels talk about Judas’ betrayal. I have this thought that there must really be a betrayal to happen and not just a stranger pointing his hands to Jesus. Betrayal is the turning point of it all. And so, whatever is the logic behind that, Judas was there to carry it out. His mission on the apostleship was to betray Jesus and nothing else. And the appalling theory in the Gospel of Judas was that Jesus ordered Judas to betray him. Nobody, even Pope Benedict, will ever understand that until eternity. Judas shut the doors to it when he committed suicide. And thus we have a perfect conspiracy of the highest order.

Jesus and Judas conspired for the crucifixion. I am not charging anyone nor the church for anything. But as we saw it, it was clear to us that there was a conspiracy.

Going with the logic presented by the Gospel of Judas, Jesus ordered Judas to betray him, which the latter obediently did. Jesus told Judas that he is the only one who can do it. It would be much unbelievable if it was John or Peter for these two are close enough to him. For some reason, Judas was the perfect man for the job. And so that night in the garden, Judas kissed Jesus hello and goodbye.

I even saw some precepts of “bribery” that happened along the story of the Gospel of Judas. Jesus bribed Judas that he will show him a place in heaven that no angel have ever seen and that to those who know it would hesitate to call it by its name. This part, I think was a bribery. But I will not force any conclusion with that.

Nevertheless, the suicide part on the story of Judas was perfect. Why? Because it sealed the gates towards understanding why did Judas betray Jesus. It sealed Judas’ mouth for eternity. No human mind would ever tell what really transpired and even the ancient historians will not hear from it. Judas is dead. With his death will come the greatest story ever told that Jesus was betrayed and was crucified. True, Judas bears the most damned identification from that moment on.

With a lingering thought, I have a silly theory that Judas quickly killed himself after learning of Jesus’ death because he will by then demand Jesus (in heaven) for his reward – the bribe that Jesus will show Judas that promised “place” in heaven.

Well, mankind has a world-time to consume to ever tresh out the whole story – if it is even worth treshing out for. Until then, it is my belief that Judas deserves his rightful place in Vatican as he was the spark that started the whole Christiandom rocking and rolling in spirit being saved from the fires of hell and bestowed a promise of eternal life.

About this entry